Our Coalition

Eric Garcetti
Eric Garcetti

Mayor • Los Angeles, CA
MORE Founder and Co-Chair

Mayor Michael Hancock
Michael Hancock

Mayor • Denver, CO
MORE Co-chair

Mayor Tishaura Jones
Tishaura Jones

Mayor • St. Louis, MO

Mayors Keisha Currin
Keisha Currin

Mayor • Tullahassee, OK

Jorge Elorza
Jorge Elorza

Mayor • Providence, RI

Steve Adler
Steve Adler

Mayor • Austin, TX

Steve Schewel
Steve Schewel

Mayor • Durham, NC

Mayor Esther Manheimer
Esther Manheimer

Mayor • Asheville, NC

Mayor Quinton Lucas
Quinton Lucas

Mayor • Kansas City, MO

Darrell Steinberg
Darrell Steinberg

Mayor • Sacramento, CA

Mayor Melvin Carter
Melvin Carter

Mayor • St. Paul, MN

Lydia Lavelle, Carrboro, North Carolina Mayor
Lydia Lavelle

Mayor • Carrboro, NC

Michael Tubbs
Michael Tubbs

Former Mayor • Stockton, CA
Emeritus Member

Sign thats says 'We Who Believe in Freedom Cannot Rest"

Members agree to:

  1. Commit to supporting H.R. 40 (Commission to Study and Develop Reparation Proposals for African-Americans Act).
  2. Form an advisory committee/commission composed of members of local, Black-led organizations to formally advise the Mayor on an approach to reparations — including strategies and opportunities to seek public and/or private dollars to fund pilot programs.
  3. When funding is identified, and in consultation with the committee/commission, lead development and implementation of a pilot reparations program targeted at a cohort of Black residents. Though these local programs would vary in style and scope and be considered very modest in the context of the $12 trillion in federal spending that is estimated to be required to close the Black/White wealth gap, they would serve as high-profile demonstrations for how the country can more quickly move from conversation to action on reparations for Black Americans.